The Burial – In the Taking of Flesh

Album cover for The Burial's In the Taking of Flesh.

The Burial is a band that I discovered rather recently off of a podcast called The Antidote (Episode 180) about a year ago. I got really into them for a few weeks then ended up drifting back to other stuff. When I started kicking around the idea for this site I remembered that their lyrics had been pretty good so I looked them up again.

I was wrong. Their lyrics aren’t pretty good. They are phenomenal! I had a difficult time whittling down the album to three lyric clips for the album page because reading through all the lyrics, basically every song on the album should be one of those clips.

Top that off with the fact that these guys are some of the most talented and capable technical players in all of metal and you’ve got the building blocks for an amazing record. I’m not usually a fan of instrumental metal but even their instrumental track “Quintessence” is enthralling.

Before I write up one of these albums I do a few things. I read every lyric to ensure there is nothing troubling and that the band actually fits with the idea of this site. I also listen to the entire album start to finish three times, at least once in the morning and at least once in the afternoon/evening. I also try to find interviews from the band about the album to get further insight into what their mindset was like for the album.

In the episode of The Antidote linked above Dave Hawkins, the host, asks Elisha Mullins, the bands vocalist and the writer of the whole album “The opening track on ‘In the Taking of Flesh’ is ‘En-Hakkore’ which means ‘fountain of the crier’. Would you say that song name, really, could be used to describe what ‘The Burial’ is all about?” Elisha responded “Yeah, I would say that’s accurate. Obviously that’s from the… where I read that was from the story of Sampson. Ya know, he’s out in the desert like ‘I just killed all these guys with a jaw bone, like, am I now just going to die of thirst?” And then God springs up a fountain for him to drink from and it was called ‘En-Hakkore’ and the translation I had said ‘the spring of him who called’ which, it’s the same thing, it’s semantic, but it’s much more poetic. So I liked that a lot. In reality that’s the voice of ‘The Burial’ if you will, that’s our sound. God is this spring, the spring of him who called.”

Author: RighteousMetal777

A Christian, a family man, a Metalhead, a Mechanic, a Comic Book fan.